Share this release

Various Artists
"The World Of Progressive Disco"

We doubt you'll hear much like this around at the moment...

So what is the sound of progressive disco? Well it captures the insane rhythm and the unforgiving driving beat that is instantly found in the funk of the early seventies but real disco music also had a formula that would guarantee the hottest DJs success if played at the right time. That formula was a blend of up-tempo rhythm sections laden with South American percussion mixed with soulful vocals and orchestral strings - a symphony of sex, lust and love. We change the formula and focus on the rock, electronic and dub elements - slower, sleazy and fun.
So where is the progression? At Bearfunk records we've heard the expression and are sometimes labelled 'Nu disco', a brand and style we've always felt uneasy about. What is Nu disco? The output has been made by many people that enjoy the same passion we have for disco music but not many of these productions could really stand up to the music being made and played 30-40 years ago. It may be 'Nu' by name but in reality it is just an imitation of what has gone before. The aim of the project was to re-imagine (not re-edit) the disco beat and draw inspiration from the progressive approach of our friends and the bands we have on this compilation. We bring together some new, raw talent coupled with some familiar names to Bearfunk. Do expect hints of Afrobeat, Rock, New Wave and of course dub. Don't expect to find something that won't make you dance, both fast and slow.
The best summary we could give you if you're standing in a shop debating whether to buy this compilation is that it's the "get on the floor now, baby!" of disco mixed with the melancholy, bearded rock influence of men and women that should really know better.
We doubt you'll hear much like this around at the moment and we sincerely hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed putting it together.

Hemingway & Junction Sound - O: Written and Produced by Hemingway & Junction Sound.
The Feathered Edge - I'm Only Slightly Drunk: Written and Produced by The Feathered Egde.
Salon De L'Herbe Feat Kazu - Learning To Dance: Written and Produced by Stevie Kotey and Max Essa.
Factor 8 – Riviera Syndrome: Written and Produced by Factor 8.
Walken, Hayes & Calista – Taxi Taxi: Written and Produced by Max Essa.
Loggaphon – Tropical Research Station: Written and Produced by Loggaphon.
Android romance - Metallic Kiss: Written and Produced by Android Romance.
The Tobor Experience Disco Experiment – Station To Station: Produced by The Tobor Experience Disco Experiment. Written by David Bowie.
Jan Ken Po - Colour Wheel: Written and Produced by Walken, Hayes and Calista.
Animal Magic - We're Walking: Written and Produced by Animal Magic.
Kenny Keni Band - Portuguese Dusk: Written and Produced by the Kenny Keni Band.
Salon De Le'Herbe - Learning To Dub: Written and Produced by Stevie Kotey and Max Essa.
Tracks 1,4,5,9,10,11 published by Dharma Songs. Tracks 2,3,6,7,12 published by Dharma Songs & Westbury Music. Track 8 published by Copyright Control.
(P) & (C) 2011 Bearfunk

1. Hemingway & Junction Sound - O Buy Track ( 0.94)
2. The Feathered Edge - I'm Only Slightly Drunk Buy Track ( 0.94)
3. Salon De L'Herbe Feat Kazu - Learning To Dance Buy Track ( 0.94)
4. Factor 8 - Riviera Syndrome Buy Track ( 0.94)
5. Walken, Hayes & Calista - Taxi Taxi Buy Track ( 0.94)
6. Loggaphon - Tropical Research Station Buy Track ( 0.94)
7. Android Romance - Metallic Kiss Buy Track ( 0.94)
8. The Tobor Experience Disco Experiment - Station To Station Buy Track ( 0.94)
9. Jan Ken Po - Colour Wheel Buy Track ( 0.94)
10. Animal Magic - We're Walking Buy Track ( 0.94)
11. Kenny Keni Band - Portuguese Dusk Buy Track ( 0.94)
12. Salon De L'Herbe - Learning To Dub Buy Track ( 0.94)
Buy All Tracks ( 8.01)

Buy Physical CD (12.99 12.34)